College Council

All government schools in Victoria have a School Council. They are legally formed bodies that are given the authority to set the key directions of a school within centrally provided guidelines. In doing this, a School Council is able to directly influence the quality of education that the school/college provides for its students.

Who is on the Council?

The term of office for members is two years.  Half the members are required to retire each year and this creates vacancies for the annual College Council elections.

There are three categories of membership:

  • Parent category

More than one third of the total members must be from this category. Department of Education and Early Childhood (DET) employees can also be parent members at their child’s school/college. There are eight parent members at Mount Ridley P-12 College.

  • DET employee category

Members of this category may make up no more than one third of the total membership of the College Council. The Principal of the College is one of these members, along with four other staff members

  • Community member category

Persons are co-opted by a decision of the Council because of their special skills, interests or experiences. DET employees are not eligible to be community members. We currently have two members in this category

When does College Council Meet?

The College Council meets on the third Tuesday of each month between 6:00 pm and 8:00pm in the College’s administration building.  Council members also attend sub-committee meetings.

Why is parent membership so important?

Parents elected to the Mount Ridley P-12 College Council provide important viewpoints and may have valuable skills that can help shape the direction of the College.  Parents need an interest in their child’s education and the desire to work in partnership with others to help shape the College’s future.

Current Office Bearers

Our College Council Office bearers for 2018 are:  Mary-Anne Schmidt (President), Jacqui Russell (Treasurer) and Melina Davies (Assistant Treasurer).